First Offense DUI in Oregon

By Neal Weingart, Attorney at Law, LLC  May. 22, 2013 4:26p

First-offense DUI is one of the most common types of DUI processed in Oregon courts as well as courts throughout the country. In Oregon, if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) measures .08 percent or more on a chemical test, you will be charged with driving under the influence of intoxicants. Even in cases where your BAC is less than this, you can be arrested and charged for DUI if you demonstrate an impaired ability to drive as witnessed by law enforcement. Commercial drivers can lose their license if their BAC is .04 percent or more. Underage drivers can lose their license with a BAC of .02 percent.

If you are convicted of DUI, you face an array of penalties. First-offense convictions include heavy fines, jail time, and a license suspension. How severe your penalties will be are dependent on certain factors in your case, including your BAC level and whether a minor under the age of 18 was in the vehicle while you were driving. The maximum punishment is one year in jail. The minimum punishment is 2 days in jail or 80 hours of community service, along with a mandatory fine of $1,000, or a $2000 fine if your BAC was 0.15 or above. If your BAC exceeded 0.15, the fine increases to a minimum of $2,000. If a minor was in your car when you were arrested for DUI, the fine can increase up to $10,000. Your license will be suspended for one year and you will be ordered to complete a drug and alcohol treatment program. You will also be required to attend a Victim's Impact Panel. Finally, you will be required to install and use an ignition interlock device in your car at your own expense for a year after your license suspension is complete.

Portland Criminal Defense Attorney

In some cases, you may be able to avoid a conviction if you are eligible for a diversion program. If you complete the requirements of the diversion program, your DUI will be dismissed. Requirements generally involve a treatment program, education program, payment of court fees, and an ignition interlock device installed in your car. By discussing your case with an experienced DUI defense attorney, you can find out if you are eligible.

Neal Weingart, Attorney at Law, LLC is a criminal defense law firm serving clients throughout the greater Portland area. Attorney Weingart is an experienced DUI defense lawyer who can give you the competent and dedicated legal assistance you need following any DUI arrest. He has represented hundreds of individuals in DUI and other criminal cases in the local courts. As a seasoned trial lawyer, he approaches every case with thorough preparation and an attention to detail. Learn what your options are and how you can be defended by contacting his firm for a free consultation.

(503) 397-9933
1001 SW 5th Ave Suite 1415
Portland, OR 97204

Main Website:
View Website
Contact our office by email or phone instantly by clicking the options below: