Florida Law on DUIs

By Pagan & Stroleny, P.L.  Nov. 21, 2014 12:31p

FLORIDA LAW ON DUIS

A DUI is a criminal offense punishable by law and proven by an unlawful blood alcohol content level of .08 or above. A DUI occurs while an individual is operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or drugs.

Every state has different laws pertaining to DUIs. It is necessary to contact a criminal defense attorney in your state to learn more about the laws affecting you. A criminal defense attorney can help you understand the law and ensure that your rights are protected.

Florida law regarding DUIs is strict compared to most other states. A first DUI conviction can carry a fine of $250 up to $1,000, a mandatory 50 hours of community service, probation up to a year, license suspension up to a year, ignition interlock system requirement for up to six months, and jail time up to nine months. A second DUI conviction can carry a fine of $500 up to $2,000, a mandatory 50 hours of community service, ignition interlock system requirement for a mandatory two year minimum, license suspension for up to five years, mandatory imprisonment of 10 days, and jail time up to a year. A third DUI conviction can carry a fine of $1,000 up to $5,000, a mandatory 50 hours of community service, license suspension for a minimum of 10 years, mandatory imprisonment of 30 days, jail time up to a year, completion of a mandatory DUI treatment course and a mandatory ignition interlock system requirement. A fourth DUI conviction along with subsequent DUI convictions can be 3rd degree felony charges. An offender will be classified as a habitual offender, receive harsher penalties including a mandatory permanent drivers license revocation and jail time up to ten years. While actual sentences can vary, these are the typical penalties associated with each offense.

If you have been successfully convicted of a DUI, there may be some relief for you. Under certain circumstances, a temporary driving permit can be obtained after a license has been suspended. Other options may exist too. An experienced criminal defense attorney can assist you in obtaining these options and can make sure that your rights are being protected.

If you have been charged with a DUI, you should contact a criminal defense attorney immediately. A criminal defense attorney can help you seek the best results in your DUI case. Contact Pagan & Stroleny, P.L. for all of your Miami Dade and Broward criminal cases. Attorneys Christopher Pagan and Julian Stroleny will work to resolve your criminal case and obtain the best results. Call us today to schedule a free consultation and see how we can help you. To learn more about DUIs and BUIs in Florida, visit us online at http://www.pslaw.org/dui-bui/. Our team of lawyers is ready to assist you with all of your criminal defense needs.

(305) 615-1285
1 NE 2nd Ave # 200
Miami, FL 33132

Office Hours:
Monday 9:00am-11:00pm
Tuesday 9:00am-11:00pm
Wednesday 9:00am-11:00pm
Thursday 9:00am-11:00pm
Friday 9:00am-11:00pm

Main Website:
View Website
Contact our office by email by clicking the button below: