DUI Charges in Tennessee

By The Claiborne Ferguson Law Firm, P.A.  Aug. 16, 2013 2:03p

As in the other states, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle in the state of Tennessee with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 percent or above. Tennessee courts have harsh penalties for those who are convicted of this offense. A first-time offender who is convicted can expect to face 48 hours up to a year in jail, depending on the facts of the case. For those convicted with a BAC of .20 or greater, the minimum jail time is seven consecutive days. Other penalties include a license revocation for one year, participation in an alcohol or drug treatment program, possible restitution to anyone who has suffered physical injury or personal loss, fines of $350 up to $1,500, and possible mandatory ignition interlock device (IID) installation and use at one's own expense.

First offense costs can add up to $4,900, which includes towing, bail, attorney fees, high risk insurance costs, court costs, education fees, and license reinstatement fees. Another $1,000 may be added for those required to use an IID. For those who refuse to submit to a chemical test, a license revocation for up to one year will ensue on a first refusal. In the case of a second refusal, the license revocation will be for two years. For those with two DUI convictions within five years, an IID will generally be required for a period of six months after their license has been reinstated.

Second and subsequent DUI offenses result in more serious penalties. Other types of DUI offenses which may be charged include vehicular assault, child endangerment, vehicular homicide, and aggravated vehicular assault with driving intoxicated, which are all felonies.

DUI Defense Attorney in Memphis

As you can see from the above, a DUI conviction can seriously impact your life. That is why you need an experienced and skilled attorney in your corner as soon as possible. Various types of legal strategies can be used to give you the best possible case result. Only a committed and knowledgeable legal professional will have the know-how to accomplish that.

Claiborne Ferguson Law Firm is a criminal defense firm based in Memphis which can provide you with the services of a Certified Criminal Trial Specialist. Few attorneys in the state have achieved this prestigious status. Your case will be handled by a legal expert with more than 15 years of experience in defending all types of criminal cases, from DUI to theft crimes, sex crimes, violent crimes, and more. Furthermore, Mr. Ferguson has extensive training in medical science and technology, all of which can be used in DUI defense. If you are facing DUI or other criminal charges, contact the firm to arrange for a free case consultation so that you can get the legal advice and guidance you need right away.

Other Recent Articles

Tennessee School Bus Driver Charged with DUI

Last year, a 39 year-old female school bus driver was charged with DUI in Cocke County, Tennessee after she was found drinking a 24 ounce can of beer inside the idling bus.
More Articles »
(901) 529-6400
100 N. Main Building, Suite 3118
Memphis, TN 38103

Main Website:
View Website
Contact our office by email or phone instantly by clicking the options below: