Law Office of Chip Siegel, Esq. Articles An Overview of DUI in Nevada

An Overview of DUI in Nevada

By Law Office of Chip Siegel  Jun. 17, 2011 4:32p

Prior to the 1980’s, if you were caught drinking and driving, all you would get was a slap on the wrist. Today, drinking and driving is illegal across the United States, and the state of Nevada is no exception. If you are convicted for drinking and driving, you could face harsh penalties. Penalties for a DUI potentially include: driver’s license suspension, up to 6 months in jail, 96 hours of community service, from $400 to $1,000 in fines, DUI School (plus the $150 tuition), DUI program or treatment and, you could be required to install an Ignition Interlock Device.

Most DUI’s are charged as misdemeanors, however, under aggravating circumstances, they can be charged as a felony offense. If you are eventually convicted of DUI in Nevada, you will be subject to both administrative and criminal penalties. If you have been arrested for DUI, contact a Las Vegas DUI attorney immediately.

The standard measurement for an impaired driver is 0.08 percent blood alcohol concentration (BAC) nationwide. Nevada has lower limits for commercial drivers (0.04%) and, drivers under the age of 21 (0.02%). The BAC limit applies strictly to alcohol, however, if there is any detectable amount of an illegal substance found in your blood, then you will receive the same penalties as you would for a DUI, if not more.

Aside from driving while under the influence of alcohol or illegal drugs, a DUI charge can include prescription drugs as well. Driving while under the influence of any drug, whether it is legal or illegal can bring on a DUI charge if that drug impaired your driving. This is especially true of sedatives.

Challenging Your DUI Charges

Every state criminalizes DUI, and every state has its own set of laws governing DUI penalties. If you have been arrested for DUI, keep in mind that your charges can be fought. There are specific DUI defenses that a Las Vegas DUI lawyer from the Law Office of Chip Siegel, ESQ. can use to defend your case. In the very least, we may be able to help you receive a reduction in charges, if not a dismissal altogether.

Contact a Las Vegas DUI attorney from our firm for a free initial consultation today!

Other Recent Articles

Nevada DUI with Injury or Death

In the state of Nevada, when people are involved in a drunk driving accident and no one was injured or killed, the drunk driver will usually face misdemeanor charges.
More Articles »
(702) 387-2447
601 South 7th Street
Las Vegas, NV 89101

Office Hours:
Mon-Fri 9am-5pm

Main Website:
View Website
Contact our office by email or phone instantly by clicking the options below: