First DUI Offenses

By Virginia Landry   Jan. 8, 2011 4:48p

In California, most first DUI offenses are charged as misdemeanors, in the absence of aggravating factors. Aggravating factors would include causing an accident or causing bodily injury or death to another person.

Under the implied consent laws, when you apply for a driver's license, you are agreeing to submit to a chemical test when you are under suspicion for DUI. If you do not submit to a chemical test when a law enforcement officer asks you to, your driver's license will be suspended automatically. The penalties for a first California DUI offense are:

  • From 96 hours to 6 months in jail
  • Fines from $1,000 to $1,600
  • A six months driver's license suspension
  • Mandatory completion of a Driving Under the Influence Program
  • You are required to carry California SR22 insurance for a restricted license

For a first time California misdemeanor DUI, you will have three years of probation, and you will have to participate in a three-month long alcohol education program. If you refuse to submit to a chemical test or, if your BAC was .20 percent or greater, you will be enhanced to a six-month program.

DUI Defense Attorney in Orange County

If you or someone you love has been arrested for a DUI in Orange County or the surrounding areas, an experienced DUI attorney from the Law Offices of Virginia Landry can help. DUI cases are not necessarily open and shut cases. There are several legal defenses that can be applied to DUI cases and, when your future is at stake, getting the help from an aggressive defense attorney can make all the difference in the outcome of your case. We have successfully helped our clients either get their charges reduced or made more favorable through various legal tactics. 

Contact an Orange County DUI Lawyer from our firm today for a free case evaluation.

Other Recent Articles

DUI Defense in Orange County

Being charged with a DUI (driving under the influence) is a serious matter and can not only have grave and upsetting consequences if you're convicted, but can cause prolonged turmoil in your day to ...
More Articles »

Penalties for Multiple DUI

It is important to understand what you may be facing if you have been arrested for driving under the influence with a prior DUI conviction on your record.
More Articles »

Field Sobriety Tests

While there are a multitude of non-standardized field sobriety tests (FST), there are only three that have been validated by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.
More Articles »
(949) 585-7400
23046 Avenida De La Carlota Suite 125
Laguna Hills, CA 92653

(949) 585-7407
Contact our office by email or phone instantly by clicking the options below: