MacGregor & Collins, lLP Press Son of Clark Gable Faces DUI Charges

Son of Clark Gable Faces DUI Charges

By MacGregor & Collins, LLP April 05, 2013

John Clark Gable, who is the son of the legendary actor Clarke Gable, was arrested the first week of April for an alleged hit and run, as well as driving under the influence. His bail was set at $15,000 where he was later released.

Hit and Run without injury to individuals results in lower sentences than the same cases involving damage to property.

The LA Times reported that a chemical test was conducted on the accused for his levels of intoxication, where the results have not been released.

Clarke Gable is best known for his role in Gone With The Wind which was popular in the 1930s. His son, the accused, was born four months following his death.

California Hit and Run is handled in two ways, one of which includes California Vehicle Code 20002. This happens when inanimate objects are damaged.

Given that CNN reported the hit and run affecting a five car lineup on 21300 block of Pacific Coast Highway in Malibu, Gable will most likely face this Hit and Run charge - with fines including a maximum of one year in jail and one thousand dollars. The court may also order victim restitution to the vehicles' owners.

On the other hand, if there were someone injured or involved in the hit and run, this is described as a felony in the state of California, which carries sentencing of sixteen months, two or three years in prison, as well as $10,000 in fines. Additional penalties include point deductions on the driver's license and compensation to victims who suffered during the course of a hit and run.

California law requires that all drivers stop and notify authorities that an accident occured regardless of who is at fault. Another requirement is that both drivers stop and identify themselves – plus offer reasonable help to anyone who may be injured – even if this means just dialing an ambulance to the scene of the crime.

In addition to the above hit and run charges, Gable could additionally face DUI charges with the following sentences:

  • Up to five years' probation
  • Imprisonment in the County Jail of six months
  • Up to $1000 in fines and a minimum of $390
  • Up to nine months in DUI School
  • Up to six months driver's license suspension

Plea bargains can also be entered to lower the charges that DUI or even hit and run offenders face.

Written by Randy Collins

Vehicle Manslaughter Tied to DUI in California

DUI in California can lead to severe consequences – including a common type of homicide – vehicular manslaughter. In a fatal twist of events, 50 year old Vincent Morales is now being charged with this ...
More Press Releases »

New Federal Push Advocates Zero Tolerance for Stoned Driving

Current laws for Marijuana advocate the theory that marijuana can indeed cause impairment while driving. At the present time, California laws hold that all residents as well as out-of-state drivers ...
More Press Releases »

California DUI Law Changes In 2012

Effective January 1, 2012, former DUI laws in California have changed from the previous year. Here are the top DUI law changes that are worth taking a note of:
More Press Releases »
(888) 250-2865
1000 Quail Street Suite 110
Newport Beach, CA 92660

(949) 296-1019

Office Hours:
Monday 8am-5pm
Tuesday 8am-5pm
Wednesday 8am-5pm
Thursday 8am-5pm
Friday 8am-5pm

Main Website:
View Website
Contact our office by email or phone instantly by clicking the options below: